HOMELAND SECURITY: Planter freed, denies ransom – Cops claim to have arrested abductors of subba nephew

HOMELAND SECURITY: Planter freed, denies ransom – Cops claim to have arrested abductors of subba nephew – Thank God that he is alive, life more precious than money ?!!

MP Mani Kumar Subba - Gorkha prayers answered ?!!

FROM THE TELEGRAPH CORRESPONDENT

Dibrugarh, Sept. 21: Abducted planter Ajay Kumar Subba, 45, nephew of former Congress MP Mani Kumar Subba, returned to his residence in Tinsukia town in the wee hours today, a week since he went missing.

Subba told The Telegraph over telephone this morning that his abduction was a case of mistaken identity and no ransom had been paid for his release.

But police claimed that not only have they arrested the entire gang of abductors but also recovered part of the ransom.

Ajay Subba at his residence in Tinsukia town on Tuesday. (Rafique Uddin Ahmed) - police disappointed by release and claim ransom paid ?!!

“Those arrested include Ratneswar Khatowal, whom we had arrested earlier from Makum. We have arrested seven persons involved in the case from various parts of the districts. They were picked up during separate operations conducted with the assistance of the army and other security agencies,” Tinsukia additional superintendent of police (headquarters) Mukul Saikia said over telephone from Tinsukia. The six other persons arrested for their alleged involvement in the case are Dhanjit Chetia alias Nang, Pabitra Moran, Amit Rai, Dhantu Chowrak, Kula Chetia and Nipul Moran.

Two members of the gang were arrested from Bor Dirak under Kakopathar police station during a joint operation carried out by troops of 8 Garhwal Rifles and the police early this morning.

A sum of Rs 1.52 lakh was also recovered from the arrested duo, which the security forces claimed was a part of the ransom paid by Subba’s family for securing his release.

Subba said, “I was picked up forcibly by a gang of motorcycle-borne men. I cannot remember properly how many of them were there, since it was dark. They took me towards Lakhipathar reserve forest after they blindfolded me. I could not see anything.”

Asked about the place where he had been kept or the persons who had abducted him, Subba said they were all carrying sophisticated weapons like AK-47 rifles and behaved very well with him.

“On September 15, I was told that I was abducted because of a mistaken identity. The boys said they would soon release me. On September 17, I asked them why they were not releasing me. They said they were waiting for final orders from ‘Sir’. Who this sir was I did not know and did not ask either,” said Subba.

“Last evening, the boys said the order for my release had come and they once again blindfolded me and made me walk for some distance, maybe some kilometres. I cannot exactly gauge the distance. Then they took me on a boat, and then on a bike, finally they took my blindfold off and left me on a tea garden road. They told me it was Talup tea estate. From there I walked some distance and rang up my family to inform them of my release. My family immediately sent the car and I reached home,” Subba said.

“From the investigations carried out so far we have reason to believe that Subba and his family are hiding many things. Let the investigations progress, many new and sensational facts might be revealed in the days to come,” a police official said.

Leave a Reply

